Research Awards

General Information

The GPSG research award is offered through a competitive process for graduate and professional students at Indiana University-Bloomington. A flat award of $1,000 is given to help support research expenses incurred in connection with academic research, such as travel costs related to field, archival or laboratories research, payment for research related services, and purchase of research related supplies.

Expenses that are not supported are typing and duplicating of dissertations, normal living expenses, and travel costs for conferences or workshops.

Research awards are offered in the spring semester only. The deadline for the Spring 2020 Research Award is February 21st at 11:59pm

GPSG Research Awards are merit-based awards. Other funding sources will not be considered as part of the application.

If you still have questions after reviewing the following information, please contact our Awards Officer at

Eligibility Criteria

  1. Full-time enrollment in a graduate or professional degree program at Indiana University at the time of application
  2. For Research Awards, research had to be conducted during the current school year, September 2019 – Sept 2020.
  3. Must NOT be a member of the GPSG Executive Committee, an employee of the GPSG, or an active member of the GPSG Awards Committee reviewing applications for this award.
  4. Only one application per student will be accepted.
  5. You may only receive one GPSG Research Award. If you have previously received a GPSG Research Award, you are no longer eligible to apply for this award. You may only receive one GPSG Research Award per academic program.

Please Note:

GPSG Research Awards are considered scholarship money by the Financial Aid office. Please be aware acceptance of this award will impact your financial aid need as calculated by their office. If you have already reached your financial aid maximum for the current semester, you may be ineligible for this award. To check how much aid you have already received and if you are eligible for the Travel Award please view Question 9 on our FAQ page.

If you are conducting research with another IUB graduate or professional student, only one application may be submitted by one party. No group applications will be accepted. Multiple applications for the same project will not be accepted.

How To Apply

Once you begin the actual application you may not be able to save and come back later. We recommend that you have your materials ready when you begin the application.

Complete the online application form. If your application is submitted correctly you will see a page thanking you for submitting your application.


The 2020 Research Award application deadline is February 21st, 2020 at 11:59 pm.

Note: Incomplete or late applications will not be accepted for any reason.

Review Process

Winners are determined by a double-blind, competitive peer review process. Applicants should note that their applications may not be read by an expert in their fields. Award applications should be written with a general academic audience in mind.  Please feel free to reference our Research Grant Review Packet for details on the review process.

If you would like to serve on an Awards Committee, click here for more information.

Previous Award Winners

2020 Research Award Winners

  • Xia Zheng, Media
  • Patricia Gonzalez, Counseling & Educational Psychology
  • Jeremy Cobum, Linguistics
  • M. Claire Wilson, Neuroscience
  • Daehyoung Lee, Kinesiology
  • Deidra Miniard, Environmental Science
  • Tonya Dodez, Political Science
  • Dana Vanderburgh, Anthropology
  • Yingjian Liang, Sociology
  • Tsun Fung Au, Geography
  • Jessica Freemas, Kinesiology
  • VT Jillson, History

2019 Research Award Winners

  • Elyssa Klann, Counseling and Educational Psychology
  • Ian Armstrong, Earth and Atmospheric Science
  • Kathleen Munley, Biology
  • Zhengyan Li, Public Affairs
  • Lana Ruck, Anthropology & Cognitive Science
  • Levi Ofoe, Speech and Hearing Sciences
  • Yayun Zhang, Cognitive Science – Psychological and Brain Sciences
  • Lauren Savit, Gender Studies
  • KuanYi Chao, Linguistics
  • Alyssa Bossenger, Gender Studies & Communication and Culture
  • Ashwini Ramesh, Biology
  • Stewart Duncan, Musicology

2018 Research Award Winners

  • Nelson Zounlome
  • Minchul Kim
  • Sean McKinnon
  • Amanda Lawnicki
  • Yilmaz Koylu
  • Xingyue Zong
  • Jingjing Han
  • Elena Solohin
  • Kara Million
  • Timothy Fulton
  • Denise Ambriz
  • Furu Zhang

2017 Research Award Winners

  • Kimberly Jenkins, Speech and Hearing
  • Hunter Paris, Kinesiology
  • Emma Oschrin, Biology
  • Sam Cohen, Cognitive Science
  • Kristin Kelley, Sociology
  • Stephanie Huezo, History
  • Niki Fritz, Media School
  • Julián Carrillo, Anthropology
  • Kathryn Lehman, History
  • Lei Wang, Counseling and Educational Psychology

2016 Research Award Winners

  • Jeremy Davis, Biology – Evolution Ecology and Behavior
  • Wenjing Zheng, School of Education – Curriculum and Instruction
  • Alissa Strunk, Political Science
  • LaTeeka Gray, Anthropology
  • Ryan Lidster, Second Language Studies
  • Tenzin Tsepak, Central Eurasian Studies
  • Ali Ozes, Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry Medical Sciences
  • Elena Popa, Anthropology
  • Jolene Ramsey, Biology
  • Stephen Hopkins, English

2015 Research Award Winners

  • Charlotte Rammell, Spanish and Portuguese/Cognitive Science
  • Elizabeth Zack, Sociology
  • Eun Jin Paek, Speech and Hearing Sciences
  • Juan Rojas, Folklore and Ethnomusicology
  • Natasha Yurk, Sociology/Statistics
  • Danielle Daidone, Second Language Studies/Spanish and Portuguese
  • Samuel Slowinski, Biology
  • Trenton Mize, Sociology/Statistics
  • John Kearney, Geology
  • Ali Ozes, Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry

2014 Research Award Winners

  • Ozen Bas, Telecommunications
  • Thomas Bunting, Arts Administration
  • Danielle Diadone, Second Language Studies/Spanish and Portuguese
  • Kristin Francoeur, Religious Studies/Gender Studies
  • Steven Green, Psychology
  • Chelsey Hamm, Music Theory
  • Kaeleigh Herstad, Anthropology
  • Tamara Kharroub, Telecommunications
  • Sarah Monson, Anthropology
  • Evanna Singh, Anthropology

2012 Research Award Winners

  • Eric Bindler, Folklore
  • Eric Carbajal, Spanish & Portuguese
  • Anne Marie Guerrettaz, Second Language Studies
  • Matthew Hale, Folklore
  • Laura Ivins-Hulley, Communication and Culture
  • Kristin Jordan, Sociology
  • Jerillyn Kent, Psychology
  • Ellen Prusinski, Education
  • Jeanette Samyn, English
  • Nantanoot Suwannawut, Library and Information Science

2011 Research Award Winners

  • Amy Gray, Geography
  • Jeremy Young, History
  • Jessica Hite, Biology
  • Lyra Spang, Anthropology
  • Ryan Brasher, Political Science
  • Cody Behles, Central Eurasian Studies

2010 Research Award Winners

  • Shingo Hamada, Anthropology
  • Lorenzo Garcia-Amaya, Spanish and Portuguese
  • Firat Soylu, Education
  • Jackson Ireri, Journalism
  • Clark Sage, Anthropology
  • Kathryn Macapagal, Psychology